UltimateFavesPRO 1.0.1 / UltimateFaves 2.0

I’ve released two new version today:

  • UltimateFavesPRO 1.0.1 (Available on the blog) with a few little improvements. (See the changelog)
  • UltimateFaves 2.0 (Available on the Android) which is basically a stripped down version of the PRO 1.0.1 version, and allows you to create only two carousels.
UltimateFaves2.0

UltimateFaves2.0 - Isn't it beautiful?

So what’s next?
I’m working on a feature (for UltimateFavesPRO) that will replace that default lock-screen. You will be able to access all your carousels even when the phone is locked (with a new way to unlock your phone). It’s going be great 🙂

10 Responses to UltimateFavesPRO 1.0.1 / UltimateFaves 2.0

  1. Florian says:

    Hi,

    let me first thank you for this great app. I used this for about one week and it’s one of the most useful apps I have installed. But I also have some questions/wishes:

    1. Design has become very ugly with the latest version. Before only the icons were shown (like on the screenshot), now the background is an ugly color gradient. At least on my HTC Hero. Will this change back?

    2. What is the difference between widget and app? I only use one carousel, so are there any differences at all?

    3. The Widget is misplaced on HTC Hero. Could you place it like an app shortcut?

    4. Are there any differences between free and pro version except for the number of carousels (and new functionality like lock screen replacement and custom icons of course)?

    5. Would it be possible for you to sell the pro version also at google market? Background is that it’s easier to get notified about updates via google market.

    If you like I could provide you screenshots (if required for understanding).

    Thanks and kind regards,
    Florian

    • Lior Gonnen says:

      Hi Florian,
      Thanks for your feedback.

      1. The custom background feature is going to return in the next update. Other than that I think the new design is much better, The gradient, btw, is transparent! you should see your home screen along with its icons underneath. It only looks ‘ugly’ when it’s on a completely dark background. (The same gradient appears in the screen captures on the blog and on the market)
      2. The difference is that a widget always launches the same carousel, so that you will be able to access any carousel with a single click. The application on the other hand, will always return to the last used carousel.
      3. Yes, it’s in my to-do list.
      4. Currently (when relating to UltimateFavesPRO 1.0.1 / UltimateFaves 2.0), Other than the number of carousels, the functionality is the same. The next upgrades to UltimateFavesPRO will include the new features you mentioned (like lock-screen replacement, etc.). Those features will not be available in the free version.
      5. I wish I could sell the pro version on the Android market. Unfortunately, since I’m not a U.S resident, I cannot open a Google-Checkout account, which is required in order to publish paid-apps on the market. That’s the only reason. I really hope this is something Google will take care of soon enough.

      You have to understand that development takes time, and I’m working on this application as a one-main-crew, which means development, maintenance, customer support, blog maintenance, advertising, etc.
      I wanted to bring the new design of the pro version to the free version, not only that it has better functionality, but it has improved performance, it loads faster and runs faster, and it takes less memory. I’m doing my best to bring you quality software, so I’m asking you (not specifically you, but all users) to be patient, and if the new version is temporarily missing a tiny feature like the custom backgrounds, you’re welcome to tell me what’s on your mind, but some users are just spamming the market with 1-star ratings because of that. Which doesn’t make much sense, considering the fact the I’m giving you free software.

      You are more than welcome to share any other thoughts, issues, or requests.
      Enjoy the app.
      Lior

  2. Florian says:

    1. I only meant the non-transparent background in this version. Rest is fine. 🙂
    5. May I ask you where you live?

    I damn sure know that developing such an app is a lot of work. That’s why I asked about the possibility to buy it via google market. 🙂

    And of course performance is a very important point for this kind of app.

    Low ratings are annoying. But this is a problem which cannot be solved in my oppinion. Users who like the app don’t rate it because everything is fine and users who are disappointed because they’re missing a feature or something like that vent their anger by rating low. But really good apps will be found by hints in blog posts, forums, etc.

    Something I forgot in my first post: it would be good if you would re-add the option to not show the icon in status bar.

    • Lior Gonnen says:

      The background is definitely transparent! It looks exactly like it does in the screen captures. Try to restart your phone.

      I live in Israel. And we have two large Google R&D centers here, you’d expect there won’t be such technical issues, and if Google Checkout is not available world-wide, I’d at least expect Google to open up the market for other payment providers such as PayPal.

      You’re absolutely right regarding the comments. I personally, knowing how frustrating it can be, try to give a good rating for apps I’m pleased with, if the app has a specific problem, I’d leave a comment with a 4-star instead of 5. If I’m not satisfied, then I’d simply uninstall, and won’t clutter with a bad rating.

      I will release an update next week, with most of the missing custom settings of v1.0 (Specifically the custom background, and custom icon size)

  3. bugiesblog says:

    Restarting my phone did work. Thanks a lot!

    And again: thanks for your effort and your great work.

  4. Greg says:

    Would love to buy this if you can get it working on the Droid. When do you think it will be ready?

  5. efan78 says:

    Hi Lior!

    I just wanted to add my thanks for this fantastic app. Now I just have to work out how to get it from this other market 😛

  6. mossimo says:

    Anyway 2 disable the notification in the top of screen? “Not in the bar”? Love the app thou!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

